Planet Hippo Internet

(199) Excellent!
Write a review
Planet Hippo Internet

More Information

About Planet Hippo Internet

UK based Cheap Web hosting, at Planet Hippo satisfaction is guarantee. Unlimited bandwidth and disk space. No Hidden Renewal Fees. https://www.planethippo.co.uk

Planet Hippo Internet Key Features

  • £1.00 Web Hosting

Planet Hippo Internet Reviews

4.8

Out of 5 stars
(199 Reviews)

Excellent!

What do you think?


Help other software buyers make informed decisions.

Write a review
Planet Hippo Internet
Write a review

Monday, June 12, 2017

Poor and glad I have finally migrated to a reputable hosting company now. yes they are cheap, but you put your reputation on the line with frequent poor service, and downtime

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Did you find this review helpful?

from Cutland

Thursday, February 23, 2017

I would give it zero but that does not seem an option.

9 to 5 support. Just not interested.

I have just lost all of my inbox even the email that arrived this morning.

Please avoid them

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you find this review helpful?

from MaldAir.com Virtual

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

I tried Planet Hippo for two months and it didn't take anywhere near that long to discover how useless their services are.

You certainly get what you pay for.

Constant Error 500's not only on our sites, but also on their own front end.

They provide no way of removing a credit card from file.

They automatically charge your credit card BEFORE they inform you that they will.

They provide no way of altering your domain's registered email as they have failed to update their WHMCS. This has remained the case for two months with a 'feature deprecated' error. I have told them what they need to do but have chosen not to fix this essential feature. The service provided does not meet the ICANN minimum requirements for domain management.

They choose to charge for outbound domain transfers 'sometimes'. Seems somewhat hit and miss.

In short, you will receive a headache for your troubles. I STRONGLY suggest you avoid this provider at all cost as they are, at best, unreliable.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you find this review helpful?

from Chat Network

Monday, February 6, 2017

I have never received so much bad service from Planet Hippo. Yes tickets that have been submitted have eventually been dealt with, but they are totally unreliable.

6 times in 3 months the servers gone down, yet when i ask for one of the engineers to call me and give my number, later they say we dont do phone support. WHAT!"

6 times servers are down, and so far 5 hours and counting tonight. Its no good calling their number shown, NO ONE ever answers. Their terms and conditions links dont show same with their privacy policy, they cannot even show me their complaints procedure.

This company has broken a number of regulations, but with their lack of customer care or quality customer service, hey who cares it seems their attitude is.

They were warned before by me, as one important client was a radio station, that has now gone off air for 5 hours. I asked for details of was it a hardware issue or software issue. A simple valid question do i could inform the station production director.

What was their response, "Our engineers are working on it" Thats the only answer you will ever get. I dont blame alex on the pop up chat i know hes based in India not where Planet Hippo engineers are.

Planet Hippo is unreliable, with faceless engineers who cant even answer their own advertised number. They refuse to give any answers, they give below poor customer service, or indeed any quality customer service. Thanks to them and their unreliable servers, we have lost the contract tonight.

STAY AWAY FROM PLANET HIPPO IF YOU WANT YOUR BUSINESS TO CONTINUE. Everyone i have spoken to does not have a good word to say about them. Yes they are good at first, they have to be to get your business, but after that no they go downhill.

DONT GO WITH ANY COMPANY THAT CANT ANSWER THEIR TELEPHONE.

DONT GO WITH ANYONE WHO CANT GIVE YOU ANSWERS

GO WITH PLANET HIPPO AT YOUR PERIL.

Go on planet Hippo respond to this review and explain why you dont talk

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Did you find this review helpful?

from london dg

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

worst company with terrible customer service.
cancelled my hosting due to bad service and they still tried to charge my credit card

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you find this review helpful?

from AIDA

Friday, November 18, 2016

1 word would define them: Amateurs. Gave them my trust because they had the 24/7 chat support. Useless. They can't address problems right, or give satisfactory answers. Many times servers down. For short periods of time, sometimes for longer. And when asked them about the reasons, received unbelievable answers. Started moving my websites from them.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you find this review helpful?

Thursday, November 10, 2016

Shambles of a company, support is useless, their guarantees are lies. no working service in over a week and a half. Stay far away

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you find this review helpful?

from web reseller

Thursday, May 5, 2016

Well, what can I say, Stay Away from this company. All you people that have been using Planet Hippo are in for a shock if you ever require a backup to be restored.. Why you ask? Cause they dont have any backups. I know, that sounds crazy for a modern hosting company but it's the truth. I recently had a customer website fall due to a programming error and when I approached Planet Hippo for a restore I waited on chat for nearly 2 hours only to be told they couldn't get a backup for this particular website.

Wait, it gets better! When I asked for any backup, as I was desperate, they then told me that they don't have or do backups at all! And, that their website states this...

This is frightfully poor for a hosting company, especially one that states this on the front page of their resller website. Don't take my word for it, ask for a backup to be restored to put them to the test!..

2 things will happen,

1. You'll be so bored waiting on the support engineer as their time and respnses are poor for actions they cannot complete (Hoping you'll disconnect first)
2. Then you'll be told they don't have a backup..
Planet Hippo uses remote support engineers which means most of them if not all work from home. Response time is poor and no explanations are given to questions that I asked politely several times.. I'll be moving elsewhere I'm afraid.

I really was happy with this firm until I found this out, and of course right when I needed it them the most...

A quote from their website:
We handle server maintenance, including backups, security, software installations and more, allowing you to concentrate on growing your business.

Poor, on their part..


3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you find this review helpful?

from JustUs (UK) Limited

Tuesday, May 3, 2016

I HAVE USED PLANET HIPPO FOR A WHILE AND THEY WERE GREAT TO START WITH BUT IN THE LAST YEAR THEY HAVE BEEN NOTHING BUT HELL, THE WEBSITE WAS ALWAYS DOWN THE SUPPORT WAS SHOCKING WE STOPPED USING THEM 6 MONTHS AGO BUT CONTINUED TO HOST OUR BACK UP SITE WITH THEM WHILE WE MIGRATED 2 MONTHS AGO WE ASKED THEM TO CANCEL OUR ACCOUNT AND THEY NEVER DID SO WE PUT IN ANOTHER CANCELLATION AND THEN THEY CANCELLED THE ACCOUNT AND THEN CHARGED US, STAY CLEAR OF THIS COMPANY AND USE SOMEONE ELSE DONT WASTE TIME OR MONEY IF YOU THINK ANYTHING OF YOUR BUSINESS.

Response from Planet Hippo Internet:
05 May 2016 at 06:25

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

I have looked over your chat and ticket logs and have considered your statements above. I can see that a few of the invoices were not paid on time despite us leaving your account active. There were some occasions where your account was suspended because of these issues. I can also see a number of issues with the uptime of your website. These were addressed, but we have to stress that it's not always the network or server that is at fault. Our support worked with you in order to resolve these issues within an extremely fast period of time and from the tickets you looked as if you were happy with the outcome.

With regards to your cancellation. Your first cancellation did take place and we have ticket evidence where you have requested the service to be reactivated, which is what we did. You then once again received a number of late payment emails in which our system carried attempting to collect the payment for the months service, as soon as this was successful within only a few minutes you placed a cancellation request. This request has now been processed and your account has ceased.

We can show uptime server stats to show the uptime of your server falls in line with our annual SLA of 99.9% and I can also see that the support you received was of a high standard. As I'm sure you would agree as you have been with us for around 3 years and the experience must have been a good one I'm just sorry that you have come to the conclusion that Planet Hippo can no longer fulfil your needs.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you find this review helpful?

from backyardlondon

Friday, May 8, 2015

I have had at least two days with a dead website as apparently there is a problem for Planet Hippo connecting to a new server/cloud....lots of apologies but no service. Unlike GoDaddy there is no human voice to talk to after 5.30pm only online chat.

Response from Planet Hippo Internet:
09 May 2015 at 01:19

Hello. I'm sorry about any issues you have found yourself to have had over the last 24 hours. I have looked into the account and can see you were using external DNS and not the Planet Hippo name servers. This would require you to change the IP address from wherever the DNS is managed. In responce to the feed back you provided in regards to support, I can assure you that we run a full, real time 24 hour support team, this can be on chat, ticket or phone. We respond to all tickets with in 30 minutes and where possible provide a fix within the hour. In your case the fault is beyond our control due to the external DNS being used.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you find this review helpful?

from MK Safety

Monday, February 2, 2015

Unhelpfully, I ended my service at the end of my current bill, they confirmed this by email


Dear Kenneth Walker (MK Safety Solutions),

This email is to confirm that we have received your cancellation request for the service listed below.

Product/Service: Hippo Linux Starter
Domain: mksafetysolutions.com

The service will be cancelled at the end of your current billing period on 24/02/2015.

Thank you for using Planet Hippo Internet and we hope to see you again in the future.


Then they shut down my website now 26 days before the end of my currently bill and they state.. "we can shut down anything if we want" outrageous, WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THEM!!!!.

Response from Planet Hippo Internet:
04 February 2015 at 03:03

Hello, and firstly thank you for your feedback. Here at Planet Hippo internet we welcome all feedback good or bad and any information that can help us improve our service to our customers.

I have looked over the ticket in question and can see that you had an issue with a webmail licence which needed to be looked at by a third line tech. I can see that after a couple of hours you were informed that we needed to re issue the licence and this would mean you would temporarily be un able to use your webmail for up to 6 hours. However all mail would still be collected and you would be able to view this once the licence had updated. We explained this was beyond our control and we would keep you updated. We kept you updated throughout the night, however 2 hours after us informing you it could take up to 6 hours you were applying pressure on support staff . We do understand that the outage of your mailbox was more than frustrating however we must mention that in the time you have been with Planet Hippo you have created very few tickets or requested very little support, which would reflect on the quality of service we offer our customers. I can also see that the reason the account originally had issues was due to the system suspending you for non-payment. At no time would we terminate a client. The cancelation came through requesting the system to cease with immediate effect. However you're reporting different as above. As a company we were more than willing to help with the issues you had faced. We gave you a full month refund as per our SLA and we even restored your site within a few minutes so we could assist you in completing the migration to another web host.

I believe that Planet Hippo assisted you in a professional manner and even though you state you would never recommend us I'm sure you would have to agree that the service you have received over the past year has been of a high standard. Im sure you would also agree that every company has technical issues and it's how they are dealt with that makes all the difference, and by looking at all the evidence behind the scenes I'm happy that my team have done everything they could to assist you in the best way.

Once again thank you for your feedback and i would like to wish you the best of luck with your new host and the future.

Thank you

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you find this review helpful?

from simon smith retail limited

Monday, January 19, 2015

Pre Sales support was shocking ended up with go daddy

Response from Planet Hippo Internet:
30 January 2015 at 09:45

Hello. Im sorry you found the pre sales support to be less than adequate. At Planet Hippo we pride ourselves in customer service and support. If you could contact us directly with the person you spoke with we will investigate this further. Thank you for your feedback

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you find this review helpful?

Similar to Planet Hippo Internet

BirchHosting

BirchHosting

Shared Web Hosting
RSHosting

RSHosting

Shared Web Hosting
Exascale

Exascale

Shared Web Hosting
Claranet SOHO

Claranet SOHO

Shared Web Hosting
Hostony

Hostony

Shared Web Hosting
DPS Computing Limited

DPS Computing L..

Shared Web Hosting
This page was last updated 15 August 2018 22:42